FOV (Field of View) if you don't have triples, ONE computer screen is just fine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Turtle Power, Jan 22, 2019.

1. Timmy L

Timmy L Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    Now, can you explain that again..?
    Does the same principle apply if you play standing up, with your back to the screen?
    X

• Funny Funny x 1
  2. benoityip

benoityip Active Member

Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    I am a driver with occasional track days with pretty competitive lap times

I want to mention in FOV, there is another important factor that people miss. The size of the object. I am running a single 40 inch TV now, but now planning to get a UHD 55 TV, and I sit 2 feet away from my chest to the monitor.

As a driver, what the real object size in my real car should be the same object size in my screen. Triple screen (monitor, not TV) with around 35 inch only solves the horizontal problem, but did not solve the vertical problem.

With a big screen, my lap time has significantly increased because
    1. My steering sensitivity is decreased to behave close to a real car, so when you turn, you can have fine adjustment
    2. You can attack a corner much more easily. I use the middle of the cockpit to visually "align" the corners. This is much much more precise now

I recently move the cockpit position view in the car to be much more forward, similar view to my real car, and also change the fov from 1.2 to 1.0. I gained a lot of time in each track, around 0.5 to 2 seconds per lap. You can check "Ben Yip" in GTR2 leaderboard. I am in very good position in many tracks

Same theory to a big monitor, if you are a real driver, the size matters. There are people running 3 55TV as their rig. You can search youtube for it

TV nowadays has very low latency, so not a drama for most of us

I don't like viewing from a hood view or a front bumper view because you can no longer feel the rear end of the car slide visually.