OpenVR support

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RaceRoom, Jan 25, 2017.

1. TanHammer

TanHammer New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Well I guess a combination of this sim (DX9) and WMR or Open Composite. I guess all we can hope for is some future updates to DX or other optimisations that may help with VR performance. Hopefully the latests updates will help to bring in enough new users that it would be viable to have the devs spend time on this area.

• Disagree Disagree x 1
  2. A Warringa

A Warringa New Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    That is exactly my biggest hope :) I'm no programmer but I assume it would be a huge task to update it to DX12 for them so I don't have much hope for that. There was some hope when the WMR devs wrote on reddit they found the possible conflict between WMR and SteamVR, but their latest Beta actually doesn't work with Raceroom at all. So some small hope is that they will fix that and hopefully that will give some improvent to Raceroom.

3. TanHammer

TanHammer New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    DX12 would be a godsend but yes very unlikely, even DX11 would be a literal game changer :) Hopefully we see some updates in this area down the line. I love everything about this sim except for VR perfomance, if that was better optimised it would take place as my preffered sim.

4. A Warringa

A Warringa New Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Even with the poor VR performance (well I get 90fps but it looks crap), it's still my favorite sim besides Iracing. That latest ffb patch made it even better. I also play a lot of AC (awesome amount of mods). I like the physics of rf2 the best but I hate everything else about the game. The UI, the loading times, it's a horror to select a car and track and actually start racing.
    PC2 and AMS2.. I just don't like the physics of those 2 at all.