Crew chief - what to do next?

Discussion in 'Community Workshop' started by mr_belowski, Jul 17, 2015.

1. mr_belowski

mr_belowski Well-Known Member Beta tester

Ratings:
    +1,307 / 0 / -0
    Ayup racers,

I'm away for a while so there'll be no crew chief changes for a week or two, and I think it's nearly 'done' in its current incarnation. This leads to an obvious question - what's next?

I've been asked a few times to add some kind of 'button event' for it. I've no idea if my background app can see directInput (or whatever it is) events like the user pressing a button on a steering wheel, but it should be possible. So I've been thinking about maybe having a 'tell me stuff' button which triggers the app to give whatever it thinks is a useful bit of info at that point in the race. This would take a bit of work, so is it worth investing the time? I suppose I could have multiple buttons, one for each different bit of info. But it's not exactly 'realistic'...

This got me looking into the Microsoft speech recognition API and it does look rather interesting. Basically you define a set of phrases it's listening for (which can have choices / parameters, like "how's my [fuel / tyres / engine temperature]"). You also have to tell it what language and what dialect you'll be speaking in. I'm still at the 'toying with ideas' point here, but it would be *very* cool to press a button on your steering wheel then ask a question into your headset mic, getting the appropriate info back from the crew chief.