Why have i ignored this sim for so long :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cully.ie™, Apr 5, 2018.

1. Cully.ie™

Cully.ie™ Active Member

Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Hello fellow simracers, ive being enjoying racing sims for over 25 years now , ive played everything ever released ,some great some not so great.
    Highlights along the way would be GPL Grand Prix legends and the old VROC days on 56k modem :)
    I would add GP4 in there too along with GTR2.
    Since then ive done the whole iracing thing, spent an absolute fortune etc but for various reasons i no longer enjoy it.
    Assetto corsa certainly does it for me as does Automobilista from the recent sims but im ashamed to say that ive ignored R3E for so long and more fool me because i think i might just have discovered my new favourite sim.
    Im no expert in the field, im not particularly quick but i do have an understanding if somewhat limited on what a race car should feel like.
    Back when i was young and spritely i done a small bit of RL racing car driving [not racing] when on atleast 7 occassions i drove a car from the Irish RT 2000 touring car series at mondello park during test sessions, most laps were a bit above warmup trye speeds but a few i pushed as hard as i dared without fear of crashing, so no ive never drove close to the cars limit but i know what i should expect froma sim when cornering braking etc and here i feel R3E has done an amazing job.

So im no more than a coupe of weeks into R3E where ive put in 32 hours to date and having a blast.
    Im asking myself why did i not try it before? i think the whole tag of F2P turned me off but more fool me.

The way the GT3 cars and indeed most of the tintop cars in the sim react during weight transfer and braking in particular simply blow me away, other sims have come close AC and AMS in particular but i feel Raceroom takes it to another level, remember im only playing on a G27 and i can still feel it.