Beginner questions about TCS, ABS and stability control

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mads Grand Egsgaard, Mar 20, 2019.

1. Mads Grand Egsgaard

Mads Grand Egsgaard New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi
    I just started playing Raceroom a week ago and I finally have gotten my gamepad set up in a way I can live with. I haven't tried online because I wanted consistent control of the car first. I can now drive consistently around Sepang North in an Aquila CR1 around 1m 8.0s (best 1m 7.3s) with Stock setup, Stability control on low, TSC off, ABS off and countersteer off, but with automatic gears. I was pretty happy about that and decided it was time to switch stability control completely off... But that was too much for me. So for now, I have settled for stability control off, but with factory TC on and it seems like I will be able to get the hang of it even though I really haven't yet. Now the question for me is what should I be aiming for in terms of driving aids? No aids at all? or some aids? and in that case, which aids should I choose given that I'm racing with a gamepad? What does it generally require to enter races?
    Thanks

Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  2. Goffik

Goffik Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    A lot of online servers use "Get Real" mode, which will mean that most driving assists will be disabled completely. The exception is TC and ABS. They default to "factory" in Get Real mode. What that means is that if the car has TC/ABS in real life, it will be active in the sim too. In that case it is entirely up to you whether or not to use them. It's down to whatever you feel comfortable with.

I think both TC and ABS can be helpful on gamepad since they can help make up for the less precise control you have when compared to a set of pedals. But as mentioned, you'd probably be doing yourself a favour getting used to having no assists at all since that is likely to be the most common online.

3. Mads Grand Egsgaard