Cockpit view

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bob Pearson, Apr 29, 2020.

1. Bob Pearson

Bob Pearson Member

Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Extreme newbie here, so apologies if this is a really dumb question. When racing do you set your drivers view to "in cockpit", that includes the windscreen, roll bars etc? There seems to be an uncluttered view available that I find much easier to use. I am trying to learn circuits, the "realistic" view just cuts down visibility so much that I miss some corners completely. Interested in your views :)

2. FormelLMS

FormelLMS Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +229 / 0 / -0
    Of course. I want to simulate a real race driver. And they are not sitting on the bonnet somewhere because it's easier.

Yes, it's hard. But it's the right way in my opinion.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Wonderful Wonderful x 1
  3. anno900

anno900 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    I also tried a lot. I just have single screen (small one as well) and the bad overview in cockpit is far away from realsitic as you cannot move your head as in real life. So if you do not have triple screen or VR, then I think that bonnet view is the best for having adequate overview to the the apex and a good feeling for the speed. I played a while with the camera behind/above the car just cause the cars look so good ut to get your braking points right, the bonnet view is best. My opinion. When I drive my car, then I basically also only see the bonnet, the A-pillar and the rear mirror.

4. Badgerous

Badgerous Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +223 / 0 / -0
    In-car cam all the way, but I appreciate it's not the easiest when starting out. I remember some of the cars were like looking out of a postbox.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Winzarten

Winzarten Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +377 / 0 / -0