English Racing for Rookies

Discussion in 'Leagues & Communities' started by Bob Pearson, May 26, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Bob Pearson

Bob Pearson Member

Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Lockdown newbie here. Started getting interested in sim racing about a month or so ago. Found R3E and bought the ultimate pack, G29 and a Playseat Challenge later and I'm ready to go. Immersed myself in forums, started to get a vague idea of what it's all about. Noticed so much coverage of "safe" driving, etiquette, racecraft etc.. You can only watch so many informative You Tube videos before you actually want to get out there and start learning, racing real people.

As a newbie I didn't want to get in the way of faster and more experienced racers, so where to learn the skills in a competitive but non judgemental way. Found the LTC Gaming league through Discord, and after some discussion agreed that their league was for more experienced racers than me. Obviously, my inquiry and some others like me got senior management thinking and a few days later, the Rookie League was born.

Like it says on the box, it's a league for rookies. We all want to learn, we're all competitive, we don't have lots of experience, but it's a lot of fun. So if something like that ticks your box come and have a look and join the fun.
    You can find it at: https://discord.gg/bjRG5G

• Love it! Love it! x 1
  2. sK1n3R

sK1n3R New Member

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I read a post by @Bob Pearson and it motivated me to share my story in SIM racing so far.
    I tried out Raceroom Racing Experience for the first time in November 2019, with a controller. After a couple of laps, I was like "Nah, this isn't for me".
    In January 2020, having grown tired of watching YouTube videos of guys SIM racing and enjoying it, I decided to give it another go, but this time, I was going to do it right.........I got a g920 wheel and pedals and had spare cash to get a cheap fk playing seat.