How Many AI Opponents Vs Processor/Mem/Vid ability

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base' started by J.Simonds, Jan 23, 2021.

1. J.Simonds

J.Simonds Member

Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    What I would like to see develop is a guideline scale for judging how many AI opponents should be allowed to best maintain performnce on your PC.

i5-6500/16gb/GTX1060-3gb Right now,as I am getting to know the game I have limited my AI to 6. It may be that I could easily handle more, but as I am new to the Sim, I have no idea where to start. Perhaps this thread could work as a guide in the long run to help the newer drivers setup well the first time around.

...and yes, graphics setting are going to really play into this... a lot.. so maybe the the guide also has base setting for the video as a starting point???

Thoughts?

( the term AI is too short to be a TAG word... ahem.. )

2. BeefMcQueen

BeefMcQueen Well-Known Member Beta tester

Ratings:
    +183 / 0 / -0
    The guideline for how many A.I. you can use should be how much FPS you are willing to sacrifice. There's also no rule of thumb for how many opponents reduce your framerate by a certain amount. That partly depends on how spread the field is throughout the track, aswell as the track itself.
    As for the impact that every graphic setting has on performance, there's a thread that might be worth looking at. It's about VR but in the first post there's a section 'graphic settings breakdown' hope that helps. https://forum.sector3studios.com/index.php?threads/vr-performance-tweaks-tips.13068/

Oli

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. ravey1981

ravey1981 Well-Known Member Beta tester

Ratings:
    +873 / 0 / -0
    I run on an old i5 3470/8gb/1050ti-4gb single screen, most graphics setting on high with shadows and reflections on medium. I find that the sweetspot for me is 15 AI, giving a grid of 16. Enough for a good race I find.