Feedback on [BETA] - RANKED servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stickdeath1980, Dec 18, 2019.

1. sgauge

sgauge New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi there, as this is my first message, I want to start with thanking the dev team for this great sim, I'm really enjoying the variety of cars and tracks and the quality of the simulation. I'm coming from ACC and I find it a very refreshing alternative.

Now, place for some ranting (and some proposals as well :) ).

As a newcomer, knowing already how ACC works and the benefits of a safety or reputation system, I find the current implement in RaceRoom on the tough side, if not a major pain...

In R3E, and as a rookie, I can only find a few ranked races, and I'm currently repeating again and again the same Suzuka short race, trying to climb the ladder to more interesting races. However I find the process tedious if not impossible, as I get randomly rammed into, share the incident points, and frequently finish in the pits with a flat tyre or a broken suspension (worth 2mn stop). On top of this, these "players" often the finish the race, and get their ranking bonus while I loose some... Well done.

Last but not least, if you are forced to quit (I encountered 2-3 times a bug leaving me in the pits without any possibility to resume or even start the race), you get a staggering 46pts penalty, which will take you 3-4 clean races to recover. Ouch...

I would like to suggest the following : Real rookies almost systematically apply the "brake late" strategy to try to catch you up. Some of them also deliberatly put you out of their way, because they are not patient enough to build a proper overtaking strategy, or sometimes because they are just pissed-off that you overtook them. It's however the interrest of the community that you learn to keep distance with the car in front, and how and when to overtake. As a consequence, and as a rookie, if you ramm into someone :