Struggling with the 911 GT3 R (2019)

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base' started by Agathos_Daemon, Jun 12, 2021.

1. Agathos_Daemon

Agathos_Daemon New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi folks,

i would appreciate some advice for the 911GT3R (2019) cause i am really struggling with the car. I bough it, cause i really like the look and the sound.

I am fairly new to sim racing and R3E, so i am not really fast. To give an idea, my best lap on Suzuka when it was in ranked was ~ 2:03:9is with race pace usually in the 2:04:xxx bracket.

Now this week i tried Brno with the Porsche and i felt really slow. With the default setup for the 911 with fuel reduced to 32l i only manage high 2:05s or low 2:06s.

Just out of interested i tested Brno with the M6 GT3 and was suprised that - again default setup with 32l - i immediatly managed a low 2:04, hit 2:04:00 the 2nd lap and could keep easily keep a low 2:04 pace over around 6 laps. I found that really astonishing as i only drove the M6 once before. Now a little curious i used the current ADAC 2020 event to compare the C7 GT3 to the 911. I drove some laps on Zandvoort with the 911, looked for the time and than swapped to the vette. And immediatly beat my best 911 lap by around 2 seconds.

The most interesting thing in all this is, that for me driving the 911 almost always feels like balancing an egg on the back side of a spoon, while driving the M6 or C7 in comparision felt like carrying that egg nice and easy with the front side of spoon. Yes you can loose the egg, but it takes much more effort to do so.

Now i am wondering how to improve with the 911. I know it needs a different driving style, due to its rear engine and light front. But i wonder if there are other areas, like issues with the 911s default setup that might add up to my struggling and that are not present with cars like the M6 or C7.

2. Flybarless

Flybarless Member

Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0