Tire grip/slide

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by STIL550, Mar 16, 2022.

1. STIL550

STIL550 New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hello everyone, new forum member here.

I've picked up RRE only recently, but I've been running other racing sims such as iRacing, AssettoCorsa, Rfactor2 for a while now, so not a complete beginner.

One thing that I'm finding strange is the amount of grip I have in RRE compared to other sims.
    I've been really into vintage racing for the past few months and have been running 60's- 80's cars in AssettoCorsa for fun.

I've picked up NSU TTS in RRE.

Now my experience running it is that I am getting A LOT more grip than what I was expecting and comparing to other sims. The car just refuses to slide. I've run both Soft and Hard tires. It is a little bit more slidey on Hard but not by much.

Now, I'm not looking to drift this car, but with any other sim the tire behavior is a lot more loose, and RRE it feels like the car is glued to the surface and I actively have to work to brake the grip.

All assists are OFF.

Am I doing something wrong?
    Is this car/tire combo just that grippy?
    Is this a normal RRE's behavior with its physics and tire modeling?

Really appreciate some feedback from the community. I'm struggling to put my feelings on this, if I like it or not. I do miss the four wheel slides of the mini from AssettoCorsa, but the AI is leagues better in RRE so trying to get used to this sim as the offline racing is excellent with the ai here.

2. azaris

azaris Active Member

Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    Yes this is pretty well-established behaviour of the RaceRoom tyre models. Even a car like the NSU TTS feels glued to the road. Some diehards will soon appear swearing they can drift AWD cars with enough power oversteer or that actually race cars on slick tyres can't possibly drift, the rest will tell you that sliding/drifting in RaceRoom is pretty much non-existent and to just live with it.

3. Christian G