Setup for McLaren MP4

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seriousnewb, Apr 17, 2016.

1. seriousnewb

seriousnewb New Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I'm no expert but I do okay. Enjoying the game at least which is the point I guess and supporting by buying content. I use an old DFGT wheel modded for paddle shifters and I seem to get on okay. I'm no expert at all in terms of car setups, frankly I haven't clue but would like to know more :)

I've been driving the Audi TT, GT3 and DTM 2013 around for example Nordschleife and I somehow can stay on the track. Heck even in the Audi R18 LMP I do okay. The GT3 McLaren seems very erratic somehow, understeer I guess you'd call it, where the car seems to spin out at the slightest touch.

I've tried using the traction control options for the McLaren in GT3 and added a couple of clicks to the wing. I'd like some advice if possible on what if anything I can do to improve things. Or maybe they're simulating how the car is. Widow maker perhaps ;)

2. rad

rad Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +458 / 0 / -0
    If cars spins out, thats oversteer ;) Understeer is when it doesn't want to change direction.

Weird. I find McLaren super stable on default setup and quite easy to drive compared to, let's say SLS.

Generally, if you oversteer:
    in general, try increasing springs in front or decreasing springs in back
    in slow corners, try increasing antiroll bar (ARB) in front or decreasing in back
    in fast corners, try increasing rear wing or decreasing front wing/splitter
    on corner entry, try increasing rebounds in back or decreasing bumps in front
    on corner exit, try increasing bumps in back or decreasing rebounds in front

I'm not 100% sure about last two. I think the values work opposite to how spring work, so higher value gives more grip (but car gets less responsive).

And those rules are opposite in case of too much understeer.

3. Not Lifting Off

Not Lifting Off Well-Known Member

Ratings: