A newcomer's tale

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mysterious man, Jul 10, 2021.

1. mysterious man

mysterious man New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I'm kinda new to simracing, got a g29 two months ago. Raceroom has been my main sim for this time being. I bought the starter pack, and been enjoying the game. But there are things on RR that bothers me profoundly, and I really need to talk about them. So, let me start.

I think that RR needs a more numerous playerbase to really achieve it's potential. That's because the game feels as it's core is about variety; of tracks and categories. It's as simple as it gets; if you have 62 categories and 49 tracks, you must have a proportional playerbase to cycle through all this content and really benefit from it. So, what do we have, instead? A 10 car/track combo per week, and at most, 300 active players on ranked servers (lets be honest, how many time have you seen 10 full servers at the same time? I have never seen more than 4, but let's extrapolate for the sake of the argument...)
    What does this mean? Well, supposing that RR's strength is in it's size and amount of content, we must conclude that the game is wasting a LOT of it's potential. I don't know if Sector3 would have problems to host bigger servers, or if they plan to expand on the playerbase after certain features are already implemented. I don't know even if they see this as a problem. Because, for me, it's very frustrating, as I grew to love RR so much. It's simple, accessible, has a lot of content and doesn't cost your soul, like most sims does. However, I feel like RR could be so much better by expanding the playerbase and thus the "practical" content of the game... And that's why I'm here, now. But I don't think that pointing problems without proposing solutions is very constructive, so, I'll talk about the only perspective that I can: the end consumer's view.