Problem Car and Track Images Missing

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by jcookeusa, Jun 24, 2015.

1. jcookeusa

jcookeusa Active Member

Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Hi All,

I'm new to RRRE, having just bought the DTM Experience 2013 and the DTM 1992 Car Pack in the Steam Sale. However, I'm a long-time user of all of the previous SimBin content (GTR, GTR2, GTLegends, Race07, WTCC, STCC, etc.) Anyway, I really want to get RRRE working well and see why most people here say it's a great sim. I'm experiencing two problems so far and hope some of you can help out! :)

All of the car and track images are missing from the various spots in the menus where you choose them. I instead sometimes see a generic browser-type image icon, but never the actual car or track preview image. For someone like me, this is rather crippling, since I have very little idea what I'm picking. :)

I've tried various things to get these images to appear (some advice was here: https://forum.sector3studios.com/index.php?threads/ok-wheres-my-purchased-content.1162 )

- In Steam, I deleted the local files and completely reinstalled.
    - I also "Verified Integrity of Game Cache..." multiple times.
    - I found the EXE (\steamapps\common\raceroom racing experience\Game\RRRE.exe) and set it to run as Administrator.
    - I also tried setting a couple different Compatibility settings on the EXE (Windows 7, Windows XP SP3) and also disabled visual themes (just shooting in the dark here).
    - Finally, I let the program just sit idle for 5 or 10 minutes in case it needed time to grab images online and update a local cache. I didn't want to do this for too long, as I'm still in the 2 hour refund window with Steam and don't want to burn that up if I can't get this to work.

Anyway, after all that, the images are still missing. I did try changing the "Experience" at the top, from RRRE to DTM 2013, but that didn't improve anything.

Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro SP1 64bit
    Intel i5 2500k