Fixed vs Adaptive AI

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stlutz, Sep 5, 2021.

1. stlutz

stlutz Member

Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    I'm curious how many people actually use Adaptive AI once they've been playing R3E for a significant period of time?

I've been using the sim for about 9 months and had always used fixed AI. Had pretty well settled into mostly revolving around 100, depending on the car/track of course. Decided a couple of weeks ago to try the adaptive AI in a GT4 championship. Did 2x 20 minute races. Started 15th out of a 30 car field each race.

I was quite surprised that over the course of time, I basically settled into finishing in the bottom 5 every race (sometimes would be last--10 or 15 seconds behind the second-to-to-last place car). Decided that just wasn't fun and decided to drop the adaptive AI experiment. But was curious is most people use fixed or adaptive?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Skidmark

Skidmark Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +232 / 0 / -0
    There are several useful threads on training the adaptive AI to get the most out of it and get it 'up to speed' efficiently. For example: https://forum.sector3studios.com/index.php?threads/adaptive-ai-the-tool-how-to.12888/

My personal experience however is that once you have the AI fully trained you will find yourself running in the mid-field. This suits many people as they get very close racing and lots of competition. On the other hand, I like to set the AI such that if I drive at my best (and perhaps do a PB lap time during the race) I have a chance of winning. I find with the adaptive AI I will have great racing but little chance of winning (and it's possible to have great racing nearer the front too!).

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  3. anno900

anno900 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0