Floatiness and AI weirdness

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Why485, Oct 20, 2015.

1. Why485

Why485 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    I've been taking a break from RaceRoom after getting frustrated with it for a while, but with a new patch just around the corner I decided to get familiar with it again. After playing for some hours, I have two questions. One has been bothering me since I started playing RaceRoom, the other is something I'm noticing in R3E after spending time with other games for a while.

1. Do the AI cars have the same physics as you do?

It's not uncommon that I see the AI cars sometimes take turns in ways that I just cannot mimic, despite driving the exact same car as them. There are also other turns that for some reason the AI absolutely struggle with and take very slowly. This is a huge turnoff for AI races to me, and reminds very clearly why I so rarely play against AI in racing games.

This inconsistent weirdness coupled with the way that so much as tapping the rear bumper of an AI car causes your car to spin out like you ran over a banana in Mario Kart kills AI races for me.

2. Why do the cars in RaceRoom feel very... floaty for lack of better word?

I'm trying to come up with a better way to describe it. After playing a bunch of other sims for a while, many of the cars that I think should feel very planted and responsive (SR9 Radicals and GT3 cars for example), don't.

When I'm gaining on somebody and wanting to pass them, in other games I can flick the wheel a minute amount to get the car off to the side, stop just short of where I need to, then continue in a straight line with no hesitation. In RaceRoom, it feels like there's a lag to everything I do, and consequently it ends up taking a lot more effort than I feel it should to place the car where I want to.