Question FOV explaining

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by FormelLMS, Apr 8, 2015.

1. FormelLMS

FormelLMS Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +229 / 0 / -0
    Hi, I'm really new to this and hope, that you can help me.

For now I'm driving in my living room on TV. This is a 55 inch Sony Bravia and Race Room looks very impressive. I'm sitting 320 cm far from it. My normal setting of FOV was 1,0. But I found out, that's hard to see sharp corners like Nürburgring Kurzanbindung. So half of time I'm driving blind and hoping to get those corners.
    Now I've tried a bit with this FOV setting.
    But I really don't know, what to set.
    With 0,5 I can see much more of the track but the race seems now to be very slow.
    200 kmh looks like 60 kmh in my old Opel Vectra....
    With 0,6 it isn't even better. 0,7 is the first giving me a bit more of speed feeling but I really don't know what's best.

Positive on 0,5 and 0,6 is, that handling the car is more easy. Braking points can be hit and I can drive more direct and correct. But with this speed I'll be bored on some points of my favorite track because it really doesn't look fast.

So, hoping that someone will help me noob.

2. Jo Ré Ta Po

Jo Ré Ta Po Active Member

Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    You pointed out exactly what low FOV positives and negatives are. You can hit braking points more easily but the feeling of speed is somewhat lost ... try 0.8 maybe ? :p

• Like Like x 1
  3. le_poilu

le_poilu Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +278 / 0 / -0
    Being @320cm from a 55" display doesn't help for a proper FOV settings.
    Here is a calculator that will give you the "most realistic" FOV for your setup:
    http://www.projectimmersion.com/fov/index.php?m=1
    But you're even too far away for it.. indeed you would need a much lower settings that 0.5x
    I use a 42" @125cm and my FOV in R3E is 0.6 (calculate 0.5 but I use a little bit more)