Horribly stupid VR question - how do I see my buttons?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Don Rudi, Oct 17, 2018.

1. Don Rudi

Don Rudi Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +284 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,

now that I finally moved from my trusted GTX 970 to a GTX 1080, VR is slowly becoming an option to look at. My biggest concern though, are my buttons and switches. For sim racing I have the setup shown in the picture, with all pit stop related stuff on the left panel and all car related stuff on the right panel. For flightsimming I have a HOTAS and two Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs in front of the monitor.

The stupid question now - how do I "see" these buttons, switches, knobs, MFDs when using a VR headset? I may find the buttons on the wheel blindly, but with all others I am pretty sceptical.

Cheers
    myRig.jpg

2. Thomas Friedrich

Thomas Friedrich Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +192 / 0 / -0
    This could be an interesting solution for the future:

https://forum.sector3studios.com/in...l-time-mixed-reality-in-vr.11203/#post-157552

It’s at an early development stage right now, so not very easy to set up and not comfortable to use. I hope it will be developed further, as it’s an ‚one man show‘, as far as I know. At least this would be real ‚mixed reality‘.

As for now, I only use 5 or 6 buttons on my wheel that I can reach blindly. It’s ok for me, don’t need more...

• Like Like x 1
  3. The Iron Wolf

The Iron Wolf Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +130 / 0 / -0