HTC Vive Pro

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Michael Jeffries, Jul 12, 2018.

1. Michael Jeffries

Michael Jeffries Member

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hey Everyone!

Does anyone have VR Graphic settings for an HTC Vive Pro? I'm new to RaceRoom and trying to get into it, coming from iRacing :)

I currently have a 1080Ti, 8700k, 32gb ram, so it's considered a higher end PC.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

TIA!

• Like Like x 1
  2. ndwthx1138

ndwthx1138 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    I have a vive pro, and my gpu is close to yours (titan). My cpu and gpu are both over clocked a bit (i7 6960x).

So I’m a big “no 45fps” in a racing sim. So my settings are all based on getting 90fps. After 800 hours in VR due to work and this hobby I won’t even entertain the idea that 45fps is acceptable.

Super Sampling 1.7 to 1.8
    AAx4
    Shadows low
    Reflections low
    LOD medium or low
    Opponent Cockpit anim off
    Split shadows off
    17 cars visible
    Rear view mirror low (iRacing implements this so so much better it’s a rough comparison)
    And I think I have everything else on high.

Bloom, god rays, motion blur etc don’t work in VR in Raceroom. I have them all turned off or low, but regardless they don’t work.

Lastly and insanely stupid.
    -turn the vr flag off
    - load the game
    - change the resolution to 720P
    - exit game
    - add VR tag again
    - launch game in VR - enjoy 15-20% more performance.

Game is rendering a 3rd image and it’s a fairly tough hit, the 720p res only affects your menus and monitor displays, not the vr resolution. Assetto has this same silly issue. Even turning the mirror/monitor option off still doesn’t cure the issue.

There are a few tracks that can’t be run in VR without ASW popping on and off or stuttering. Sonoma sadly and the latest Chinese track. Spa can be rough post turn 1 but dropping super sampling to 1.7 cures any stuttering for me.

Hope this helps.

NathanW