Let's talk about track balance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Skidmark, Jul 1, 2018.

1. Skidmark

Skidmark Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +232 / 0 / -0
    I admit it. I'm not that good at Road America. I like the track but with default set-up in my Porsche 911 GT3 R, I've had to drop the AI level a few times and I'm still not competitive. :(

After more than 50 laps of practice at Road America and AI dropped to 100, my best lap was 14th fastest. Not disgraceful by any means but it feels like the AI is very quick here. (I know this is not my best track and I know different driving styles make some of us slow at some tracks where others excel and vice versa).

So I decided to do an experiment. Having just bought Zhuhai (along with Road America) at the sale, I thought I'd give it a try.

Zhuhai. AI=100. Porsche 911 GT3 R. Default set up. :cool:

Sitting on the grid I realised I didn't know whether turn one was a left or right hander. :eek:

Just brake when they do and follow as best you can.

10 laps later and I had set and re-set the fastest lap three times. My best lap was 4 tenths quicker than the best AI. And this was literally my first look. :D

(I even had a couple of minor accidents where I hit the AI that were braking too early for my pace - Nano 10 take note !!).

Zhuhai is a very different track to Road America and this explains some of the difference. Fewer turns, many of them fast - there's no doubt it's an 'easier' track and suits my style better (if I can dignify it by calling it a style).

But it feels like the difference is still too big. If I want to do a championship with Road America and Zhuhai, I'll have to set the AI to 110 so I don't win too easily at Zhuhai - but if I do that I'll be lapped in a shopping trolley with a dodgy wheel at Road America.

I have a similar issue with Sepang - I am very fast there compared to the AI.