Monitor upgrade questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Plutarch-Petrarch, Jul 21, 2021.

1. Plutarch-Petrarch

Plutarch-Petrarch Member

Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    I started playing Raceroom on a pretty basic laptop, and after borrowing a friend's monitor I'm a bit hungry for more screen real estate. Just unsure of how much expandability I have given the modest hardware specs.

The laptop is HP Pavilion Gaming, Core i5-9300H 2.4/4.0Ghz, 8GB, 256GB SSD, 15.6" FHD, GTX1650 4GB
    The borrowed screen is ThinkVision T22i-10 21.5” Wide FHD IPS Monitor

How much bigger can I go in terms of screen size and still expect stable performance?
    Is a smart TV a feasible alternative to a new monitor for playing Raceroom?
    Will upgrading to dual channel RAM make a difference to the equation?

Thank-you in advance

2. Plutarch-Petrarch

Plutarch-Petrarch Member

Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    Any ideas? If a 40" TV, a 32" standard monitor and a 24" gaming monitor were all the same price...what would you use for sim racing?

3. Maskerader

Maskerader Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +355 / 0 / -0
    Regarding performance it's not about size but resolution. But I don't know what your GPU is capable of, it doesn't look particularly powerful. Try using nVidia's DSR feature to see how much you can increase your pixel count until your GPU starts to be a problem.

Once I used a 40" TV (an old one, 1080p 60 Hz) I don't want to get back racing on a 24" monitor. For me bigger is better: I can set a correct FOV and it'll still be wide enough not to cause much visibility issues.

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. Plutarch-Petrarch

Plutarch-Petrarch Member

Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    Thanks, I'll check that (DSR) out.

Obviously I am on a small budget, so is a small ultrawide monitor like a 25UM58 (25") better for sim racing than a standard ratio 27" ?
    The FOV calcluator makes it seem as though a 27" at 16:10 is superior to a 25" screen at 21:9 which I don't quite get.