Problem No ping from servers in multiplayer: only in R3E and gradually getting worse...

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by Sascha Reynders, Mar 24, 2018.

1. Sascha Reynders

Sascha Reynders Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +109 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,

Ever since I started playing R3E a few years back, I've had issues with servers showing ping "-ms" in multiplayer. These included some of the official public servers as well as various private servers. At that time I had some technical problems (frequent disconnections, unstable noise margins, high line attenuation, etc etc) with my internet connection, so I blamed my ISP. Last year however, my ISP solved all my connection problems by completely re-cabling the telephone line to our house and I've been enjoying a very stable internet connection ever since.
    But the issue with R3E servers showing no ping persisted, and has gradually gotten worse: where in the beginning (with the very bad connection) I got a ping from about 75% of all servers in the list, today I'm lucky if I get a ping from 10% of them... Even servers that always showed good, low pings like RaceDepartment or Team GTR3 (which are based in France, where I live) are now showing "-ms" all the time. (And at the same time I am getting pings from servers based in Singapore or Thailand, go figure...)
    Strangely enough, I can join some of these no-ping servers, but most of them give the "no response from the server" message.

And this issue only exists in R3E for me, in others sims on my PC, multiplayer works just fine:

- Assetto Corsa & AMS: over 98% of the servers show ping and can be joined
    - rF2, pCars and pCars2 : 100% of the servers show ping and can be joined

Additionally: in these sims, servers like RaceDepartment or Sim Racing System all show ping, but they don't in R3E...