Question Oscillation help

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by Rmbonk86, Jun 21, 2019.

1. Rmbonk86

Rmbonk86 Active Member

Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    As the title states -

I have some oscillation going on and i'm not sure how to either eliminate it or at least reduce it. I have a Thrustmaster TMX wheel. FFB settings that I am using are from Georg Ortner link he has shared on his channel. I get the oscillation a slow and high speeds. When i drive my car and let go of the wheel IRL this doesn't happen so I would thing it should be like that in sim ( I may be wrong ).

other settings i have changed in the .rcs file are
    FFB steer force exponent of 1.0
    FFB steer force grip exponent="1.0
    & FFB steer force balance mode="3"

But i was still getting the oscillation prior to making changes to the rcs file.

2. Goffik

Goffik Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    I get the same thing. It's because your steering wheel is not connected to road wheels that have momentum keeping them pointing in the direction of travel. Instead it's trying to simulate this by the motors "pushing" the wheel back to the centre, which inevitably makes it go a little past centre so the the motors "push" in the opposite direction, etc etc... which gives oscillation.

The answer is to keep your hands on the wheel... like you would in real life. :) Or dial back the forces that cause centring, but that would mean potentially losing other FFB effects and details.

3. RoccoTTS

RoccoTTS Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +534 / 0 / -0
    What Force Feedback Minimum Force(in-game settings) do you guys use ?

4. Alex Hodgkinson

Alex Hodgkinson KW Studios Developer

Ratings:
    +1,948 / 0 / -0
    I recommend:

Damper at 50%
    Vertical load: 0
    Lateral force: 50%
    Steering rack: 100%

In the .rcs:

FFB steer force exponent="0.575" // << Try increasing this value a few % at a time
    FFB steer force balance mode="0" // << Leave as standard

5. Rmbonk86