Question Ping Rate

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by Nash Bobo, Mar 7, 2022.

1. Nash Bobo

Nash Bobo Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +386 / 0 / -0
    About how much does the ping rate have to be on RR servers before people should worry about being kicked off the servers?

Thanks
    "Nash"

2. jirbun01

jirbun01 Member

Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    depending on server
    on ranked servers it's 300 ms

3. Nash Bobo

Ratings:
    +386 / 0 / -0
    I was on a server that had a pair of 30 min CR1 races going Monday. The server was running about 122ms at that time. The first race went without a hitch. The second race, 25 mins into the race, the server bumped me off for going beyond limits. I don't know how the menu server's work. Can you educate me on who owns the servers and how they work? Doesn't RRE own all the servers? Don't they have all the same standards? Doesn't RRE control what is on their platform? As far as my end, I studied what I can do to keep this from happening. Shut down Internet programs and stuff to give as much bandwidth to the game on my end. I try to pick servers with little/faster ping times. Rookie runs fine. I have been with my ISP for about 10 years now. It has been happening the last couple of weeks. Trying to have a greater understanding of what to expect out of RRE/servers. So, I will not be so frustrated when I bumped off.

Thanks for your understanding and the support on my pictures.

“Nash”

4. Arthur Spooner

Arthur Spooner Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +432 / 0 / -0
    Ping can spike and one spike can already lead to a kick. Ping spikes can have various reasons. For example someone else is downloading/streaming big time on your internet connection or the usual WiFi ping spikes if you are connected via WiFi.

5. Nash Bobo

Ratings:
    +386 / 0 / -0
    I only have my desktop running on Ethernet. Trying to give my game the most bandwidth on Ethernet.

Thanks for the info, Arthur

"Nash"

6. Nash Bobo

Ratings: