Question Question about game chat while racing

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by katpeeler, Mar 13, 2015.

1. katpeeler

katpeeler New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello, Im very new to the PC gaming world. So new I realy don't know if this is possible. Coming from the Xbox One Ive been use to game chat. And its my understanding that on the PC this is not a automatic thing?? Do I have to download something in order to game chat with fellow racers?? If so what do you suggest?? Will any program work??...Will "X" game chat program able to talk to someone who is using "Y" game chat program??..Thanx

2. Thomas Friedrich

Thomas Friedrich Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +192 / 0 / -0
    I guess you have voice chat on your mind, not text chat?! For voice chat you have to use Teamspeak, BUT it's not like party/game chat on XBLive. You have to connect to a Teamspeak server manually within Teamspeak and the people you want to talk to have to be on the same server. Teamspeak is usually used by communitys for their cups and races. There is no option in R3E that hosts a voice chat, that connect you automatically to the people in the lobby you join and let you talk to them. There is no way (ATM) to talk to guys in a public Lobby in R3E (and no other sim I know).

http://www.teamspeak.com/?page=teamspeak3

3. katpeeler

katpeeler New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thank you for the info. So let me see if I understand you. If I want to voice chat with anyone in my race lobby I and them have to be logged into Teamspeak servers before we can talk back and forth? And that is rare that racers use Teamspeak? I am so used to saying "On your left" or "Sorry about that" while racing I find this very 1976 that a PC gamer has to use a keyboard to communicate with his fellow racers OR teammates in a FPS. Im not trying to sound harsh but this seems crazy to me. I know RR3 is a work in progress but does some of the other Simracers like Iracing use teamspeak??