Questions from a total beginner

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by z3nball3r, Aug 14, 2017.

1. z3nball3r

z3nball3r New Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hello everyone,

First of all, forgive the naivety of my questions. I am a total beginner. I haven't played a racing game for more than a decade, and it was closer to arcade. I find RaceRoom very interesting and intriguing. However, I believe it has a really steep learning curve for people like me. I have only played a few hours in amateur mode. The level of my driving skill is "I'm happy when I complete a timed lap without getting out of the track more than once". I've completed a few online races. I finished last in all of them except one, but I did finish them proudly, respecting the fair play and all (yeah I was +1 lap behind).

My questions are these, if you are willing to help:

1) Is there a beginner's guide somewhere? I can't find anything.
    2) Is there an explanation for the countless technical options in the car setups? I find it really weird that there is no description anywhere. Does this game ignore people with no technical knowledge?
    3) Are there no extended stats? For example, I couldn't find a complete list of the qualifying times of all cars or a stats report after the race, personal or overall. I find that demotivating.
    4) How do you know the type/general specs of each car category? I mean, there is no description about anything.

Thanks for reading. Don't misunderstand the motive of my questions. I find the game great. I'm just searching for some guidance, because it's overwhelming.

• Like Like x 3
  2. Nir Tal

Nir Tal Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    welcome Zen

Well, we all were rookies at some point so no need to apologize. The speed comes with practice and experience, and R3E is great experience. If the sim was easy to start with then it would probably get boring quickly.
    1. I dont know of a starter guide but this can be helpful to begin with.