Raceroom offline option or Standalone?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Turtle Power, May 11, 2018.

1. Turtle Power

Turtle Power Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +302 / 0 / -0
    Hi,

I am just getting into the Raceroom and Steam, sorry if this question has already been answered before.
    Is it possible to play the game while offline or as a standalone? and how can I disable automatic updates in Steam? Sometimes I don't want to update straight away.

2. Xon3

Xon3 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +171 / 0 / -0
    Nope, Its always online.

• Like Like x 1
  3. skswat

skswat Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +77 / 0 / -0
    I am also a bit confused why bring updates live taking so long and everyone is unable to play game during that time. I probably dont know any other game which is unable to play for several hours due to update.
    Do you consider to improve this somehow to make downtime way shorter in future? (or no downtime at all)

• Disagree Disagree x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  4. Arthur Spooner

Arthur Spooner Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +432 / 0 / -0
    Like already mentioned A LOT OF TIMES BEFORE, due to copy protection and anti-cheating, not all files necessary to play the game are on your harddrive. Thus using the software during a downtime is not possible. This is how the architecture is built and this is not going to change anytime soon, if ever.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Shivas FR

Shivas FR Active Member

Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    Well, on of the best exemple i've got for you, because i have played this game for severall years it's World Of Warcraft. Yes it's an MMO but that also mean is Online, And update or maintenance can take forever. Iracing also got a big downtome when they do an maintenance/update.

Not really rare in the video game industy, so i'm, personally, not surprised by long downtime. Even if i'm the first one who hope the game going back live as fast as possible ^^.

• Like Like x 1