The Despair of the Raceroom Penalty Points System

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TheJackal, Dec 1, 2020.

1. TheJackal

TheJackal Member

Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Hi everyone,

I've been playing Raceroom since March 2020 and although I'm fairly new to the ecosystem, I have played other race simulators before.

The way the penalty points work in Raceroom is such a painful despair that it detracts from what makes the game so good in the first place:

• Someone thinks they can win the race right at the start in turn 1 and runs into the back of you? You get penalty points!
    • You get ploughed into on the inside of a corner? You get penalty points!
    • Someone gives you a nudge? You get penalty points!
    • You've had a hard race after the first three points have happened and you're one point away from DSQ. Someone touches you. You get penalty points! ....and you get DSQ.
    • Your tyres are overheating like mad and you run off track (which in itself is a penalty)? You get penalty points!
    I understand the penalty points system is used as a detractor of bad behaviour but it makes no sense in the way that they're attributed to drivers. There is no fairness at all in this system in the sense that it doesn't determine who actually caused the incident.

Take for example the first bullet point which we know is all too common these days. Another driver caused a turn 1 pileup and all you hard qualifying effort is lost as a result. To add insult to injury, you are penalised by another driver's behaviour when you aren't at fault and also can do nothing to avoid it.

With Ranked Multiplayer servers this gets even worse and clearly favours those who are happy to drive along at a sedate pace and don't push to go faster.

This needs to be fixed so that penalty points are given to those who cause the incident. If not, Raceroom will be more like Saferoom!

• Disagree Disagree x 6
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Lixma

Lixma Honorary QA

Ratings: