Upgrade suggestion request

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SylverFyre, Jun 21, 2015.

1. SylverFyre

SylverFyre Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    Hi all, I'm new to Raceroom but loving it.
    I currently have an i7 920 with 6Gb ram and an ATI 5850 graphics card. I use a Thrustmaster TX wheel for input.

This all works ok, some tracks are silky smooth with low to mid settings, other struggle a bit more. Adding in AI drivers doesn't help, to be honest I prefer multiplayer anyway though. I want to enhance the graphics a little but mostly smooth out the framerate to a solid 60fps at 1080p. I can overclock the processor as I have a reasonable heat sink and fan, but am wondering if getting a beefy graphics card alone will help much, or is my system getting a bit long in the tooth generally?

Do any of you have similar systems and can offer any suggestions please?

2. rbn

rbn Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +69 / 0 / -0
    I would suggest upgrading you graphics card.

The processor is old but its not that slow, although a new i5 is faster.
    Adding more RAM wouldn't give you much benefit.

Get a GTX960 or better, then at later stage upgrade you motherboard/cpu.

3. D.Boon

D.Boon Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +386 / 0 / -0
    Seems we're in similar circumstances, you might not like it but, running the game in 720p over 1080p will vastly improve frame rate and generally doesn't look bad at all, actually, as your card is significantly better than mine, it should enable you to run higher general graphic settings as I run low-mid settings at the moment too... sort of.

It's worth considering the new AMD 300 series graphics cards, price point is good and although many are just re-brands, they have been slightly tweaked and are showing slightly better than their predecessors, I'm looking at the R9 390 myself in the next few weeks.