Coloured brake markers - yes or no (for a newbie)?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Metalogic, Jun 2, 2016.

?

Should I use the coloured brake markers - yes or no?

1. Yes

20.8%
  2. No

79.2%
  1. Metalogic

Metalogic Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +234 / 0 / -0
    By default R3E displays coloured brake markers for the corners, I'm aware, though, that many serious sim racers turn them off (which you couldn't originally do, but can now - though am not sure if this can be done for all tracks or not), leaving just the 100/50 markers, as on a real race track.

I'm still a newbie, though, so have left them on for now, but would it really be better to turn them off as soon as possible? If so, why? Is it going to be better in the long run to not use them? I assume you have to work out your own brake markers for different cars, so maybe they are just a distraction?

BTW I'm using "Get Real" mode, not "Novice".

2. alesi27

alesi27 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +233 / 0 / -0
    They are not available for all tracks .If my memory serves me right they stopped putting them from Shanghai last summer. So,for the tracks that have them leave them.It doesnt really make that big of a difference.

3. James Cook

James Cook Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +1,013 / 0 / -0
    Hell no! Horrible things.

But seriously, when learning the braking points for a track/car you're better off using existing brake markers and scenery/track features to determine your own visual references.

• Agree Agree x 4
  4. Bodaz0815

Bodaz0815 Active Member

Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    Oh my god! I hated Raceroom when the markers where forced to be shown. -> NO

I say the same that James Cook said, use the curbs or other environmental stuff to to orientate your braking point.

P.S. never use shadows :p

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Christian G

Christian G Topological Agitator Beta tester

Ratings:
    +2,411 / 0 / -0