Racing rig and neighbours

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Raaf, Jun 28, 2016.

1. Raaf

Raaf Active Member

Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    When I started playing racing, I bought a Driving Force GT wheel, and soon after a wheelstand pro for a stable solution in front of my TV.

I live in an apartment on the second floor, and after some weeks my neighbour from below came asking if I had a racing game: she had been suffering from deep motor noises, that at first she suspected to come from the neighbourhood, but it turned out that the wheelstand pro was very efficient in transferring the low frequencies to the floor and the whole building.

I solved this problem by mounting my steering wheel on a desk board mounted to the wall. The desk board did damp the vibrations, and the wall is solid enough not to transfer the remaining noise, so my neighbour has been happy since. I still use the wheelstand pro lower part for a solid mount of the DFGT pedals.

Now I am pondering upgrading my rig. I am especially thinking about buying better pedals, like the Fanatec Clubsport V3. But they will have vibration force feedback, so this could be a potential new source of neighbour harassment.

I am thinking off putting some thick padded mat (a yoga mat or something?) under a new rig construction, but I am curious about other people experience with solutions to this problem.

2. ElNino

ElNino Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +475 / 0 / -0
    As I read your thread I thought "foam pad on floor" same as you mention.

It maybe would help to give her a signal, so she might tolerate more. Like "hey pound on the roof if it's bothering you so I can turn down". If people feel like they have some control, they may be willing to put up with more, or just not get so angry about it.