Question Rent a Dedicated Server?

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by mjayy, Nov 19, 2015.

1. mjayy

mjayy Member

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Any way to rent a Dedicated Server for Raceroom?
    I cant host a server by myself cause my internet connection isnt that good :/

2. Gerbuho

Gerbuho Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +264 / 0 / -0
    I was wondering the same thing just yesterday.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Sean Kenney

Sean Kenney Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +316 / 0 / -0
    I think you can rent servers all over the place. Google :) Its not free though, at least the ones I have found.

4. mjayy

mjayy Member

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hm okay, I'm quite new to this stuff so what do you think i have to pay for a server? The problem is i dont know exactly which kind of server i need and how to set this server up :/

5. Christian G

Christian G Topological Agitator Beta tester

Ratings:
    +2,411 / 0 / -0
    Afaik you can rent dedicated gaming servers starting at around 100 bucks/month. But usually those offers are tied to some special games, like Battlefield or GTA f.e., you cannot have any game you like installed.

Gameservers.com f.e. are selling dedis from $175, but only for these games: https://www.gameservers.com/game_servers/

EDIT: Don't know but maybe some larger racing communities would rent R3E servers?

Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  6. le_poilu

le_poilu Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +278 / 0 / -0
    You only need some server on witch you can run Windows software (as there's no Linux binary yet for r3e dedicated)

No need of Hugh power or data space, the connexion is the most important thing.

There's a lot of hosting solutions around the world.
    Amazon is one of the most popular.
    You can have permanent solution , or timed one's (you pay only the time you use it, can be enough for punctual events)
    For example amazon ec2 t2.medium plant is 0.08€/hour and far enough for running r3e dedicated (2 vCPU and 4 GB of ram)