Steering Wheels?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Smokin Jo, Sep 9, 2015.

1. Smokin Jo

Smokin Jo New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    Could anyone recommend a good budget starter steering wheel & pedals please?
    I used to race a lot a good while ago (Microprose Grand Prix 1 & 2) using the keyboard so I have no experience with steering wheels other than the one in my Scooby :)
    I have tried using keys on this sim and its terrible so I thought I would try a budget wheel to see how I get on with it. I have looked at the Logitech driving force GT which seems to have a lot of good reviews on Amazon.
    Would you recommend that product as a good way to start?
    Thanks for any advice, much appreciated.

2. shardshunt

shardshunt Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +490 / 0 / -0
    for a beginner you cant go wrong with the dfgt. its really the best at its price range and works great with r3e.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3. James Cook

James Cook Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +1,013 / 0 / -0
    Agreed. The DFGT was my first 'proper' wheel and for the price it's unbeatable. It's very solid and durable, comfortable to use with surprisingly good (and strong) FFB. The lack of proper paddles is a shame but the shift buttons are a decent compromise. The pedals aren't great but you don't expect much at this price point. The brake can be easily modded for stiffer feel.

The DFGT is a wheel that could do the job for many years if coupled-up with a good pedal set.

You could also look at the Thrustmaster T100 at this price point but I know nothing about it. I think I'd rather go for the tried-and-tested DFGT as a safe bet.

4. Clover

Clover Member

Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Three voices in unison then, can't go wrong with the DFGT for a solid tried and tested cheaper steering wheel.

5. machwebb

machwebb Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +224 / 0 / -0
    Yep my dfgt was ace.... My brake mod was a squash ball...

• Like Like x 1
  6. Drei